IELTS – International English Language Testing System

The IELTS is offered in two different versions:

  1. The Academic Version which is for those seeking admissions to Universities and pursue higher studies such as Medical Doctors, Nurses who want to study or practice in an English speaking country like UK, USA.
  2. The General Training version is intended for individuals seek to immigrate or gain employment opportunities in English Speaking Countries like UK, Canada, USA, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, some other countries in the European Union as well as South East Asian countries.
  3. The scores of this test are valid for two years.
  4. The test seeks to measure a students’ ability to listen, read, write and speak in English.
  5. The duration of the entire test is 2 hours and 55 minutes as per the break-up as follows:
    1. Listening : 40 minutes
    2. Reading : 60 minutes
    3. Writing : 60 minutes
    4. Speaking : 11-15 minutes
  6. The first three sections, i.e. Listening, Reading and Writing are to be completed in one single sitting. The Speaking section has to be taken seven days before or after the other modules but never together on the same day.
  7. The IELTS is score on nine-bands, each signifying a specific competency level in the language.
  8. The higher the score in the upper scale of the nine-bands, the better are your chances for admission. It also means that you will not have difficulty in adjusting to the changed language accent, style and other forms of communication in localized English in the foreign country of your choice.